Availability on Home Video

All the MGM ad RKO films are available on DVD.

Although a colourized version of Tarzan, the Ape Man was aired on cable television many years ago, it has not yet been made available to the home video market.

The Tarzan Collection: The six MGM Tarzan films starring Johnny Weissmuller and Maureen O'Sullivan are available as a Collection. The set includes a specially prepared documentary . This set was released June 8, 2004 the centenary of Johnny's birth.

The Tarzan Collection, vol. 2: The six RKO Tarzan films starring Johnny Weissmuller are available as a collection. There are no extras in the set. This set was released October 31, 2006.

On April 5, 2011, two additional releases of Johnny Weissmuller's Tarzan films were announced. This is part of the TCM Greatest Classics Films Collection. They  sell for around $20.00 each.

Of the Columbia films, six are now available from TCM and Deep Discount.

Mark of the Gorilla, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, Item # CLP036844, Released 12/07/2010
Fury of the Congo, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment,  Item #CLP035512, Released 09/21/2010
Jungle Manhunt,
Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, Item # CLP035977, Released 09/21/2010
Pygmy Island,
Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, Item #
CLP035501, Released 09/21/2010
Jungle Moon Men,  Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, Item #
CLP035968, Released 09/21/2010



Swamp Fire, Johnny's only non-jungle film, is available on video and DVD. The quality is only fair. Still, it's available!

A few of the TV episodes of Jungle Jim are occasionally advertised in film buff magazines, BUT EVERY EPISODE WAS COPYRIGHTED,
and the copyright was reaffirmed in January 1983 and 1984. E-Bay continues to auction on three DVDs the complete television series. It's unfortunate that Sony has not released decent versions. Each episode when initially released on television included a brief preview of the following episode.

The Universal serial Jungle Jim starring Grant Withers and Betty Jane Rhodes is available on VHS and DVD from VCI Entertainment.

Warner Bros. has released Volume 1 of the Bomba the Jungle Boy series. It contains 6 of the films on 3 discs.
Disc 1 Bomba the Jungle Boy, Bomba on Panther Island
Disc 2 The Lost Volcano, The Hidden City
Disc 3 The Lion Hunters, Elephant Stampede

Volume 2 of the Bomba series is available from the Warner Bros. Archive. It contains the remaing 6 films of the series.
Disc 1 African Treasure, Bomba and the Jungle Girl
Disc 2 Safari Drums, The Golden Idol
Disc 3 Killer Leopard, Lord of the Jungle